Art & Sewing Supplies Haul September 2016

Last month I’ve had a surge of motivation to try new mediums and improve my art. Black and white has been my comfort zone for some time, with occasional acrylic and pastel colored pieces here and there, but watching some of my favorite watercolor artists has inspired me to take on this new challenge and to play with new colors. Here are just some supplies I picked up in September.


Painting

imnosidekick_haulaug16_painting

1. Grumbacher Deluxe Opaque Watercolor 24-Pan Set
My teacher used to scold me that my watercolor illustrations were too light, but I didn’t realize until now that I’ve been using the wrong kind. I’m excited to test this Grumbacher watercolor set, especially since it holds gold and silver pans! I won’t go into much detail about this, because I plan to write a review in the future 🙂

2. Koi Water Colors Pocket Field Sketch Box
This Koi watercolor set was a gift last month and I love the cute, convenient design of this box. I wrote a review of this recently if you’re interested!

3. Princeton Art & Brush Co. Watercolor & Acrylic Brushes
A 1/4″ angular shader, 5/0 round, 1 round, and 4 filbert with synthetic hair.

4. ProArt Folding Palette Box
I needed a new palette to mix in and my old, small one just wasn’t cutting it. The ProArt folding palette opens to 10-3/4″ x 12″ and has 5 mixing areas with 24 color wells. It has a thumb holder and holds 5 brushes of varying sizes. It also claims to be stain resistant…but I’m still finding stains.

5. Winsor & Newton Watercolor Pad
I bought another watercolor pad to test different brands. Here’s the Winsor & Newton pad which is 140 pounds and cold pressed.


Drawing & Inking

imnosidekick_haulaug16_drawing

1. Staedtler 2mm Lead Holder
I’ve been watching a lot of Proko figure drawing tutorials and Stan recommended this pencil holder. You can switch out the lead for different kinds, but the one included is more for drafting rather than drawing, so I’m going to buy darker HB leads in the future.

2. ProArt Lead Pointer
Along with the pencil, I also purchased the lead pointer. It has an unbreakable plastic housing, carbide steel cutting wheel, and will fit 2mm leads.

3. Prismacolor Kneaded Rubber Eraser
Excellent for removing or highlighting pencil, chalk, charcoal, and pastel! It’s also super easy to clean and you don’t have to worry about eraser debris flying all over the place.

4. Srathmore Sketch Paper Fine Tooth
Yet another sketchbook that the perfect size to carry to school. There’s 100 sheets, size 5.5″ x 8.5″ and 60 pound 400 series.

5. Speedball Sketching Dip Pen Set
Some of my favorite artists use dip pens for lining, so I thought I would give it a shot. Speedball has many different tips to use for all kinds of purposes, so besides lining I also want to practice calligraphy. Review coming in the future!

6. Liquitex Ink! Transparent Acrylic Ink in Transparent Burnt Sienna
Some ink to use with my Speedball dip pen, but it’s very versatile and can be used for other art projects as well.

7. Pentel 05 Pen
I randomly discovered this pen at work and it’s great for lining! So I picked one up for myself at the art store.

8. Sakura Pigma Micron Archival Ink
More Micron pens to go with my collection. Waterproof and fade proof in sizes 005 (0.20mm) and 03 (0.35mm).

9. Sharpie Peel-Off China Marker
Here’s one in red and blue that I originally bought for sketching….but it doesn’t erase. I guess I should have known since this is “Sharpie.” On the bright side they’re really great marking tools for draping!


Sewing

imnosidekick_haulaug16_sewing

1. 10 yards of Unbleached Muslin
Super cheap muslin from Walmart priced at $2.24 per yard. Not much to say here. I just needed some for draping class.

2. ProArt 5-piece Compass Set
I bought this compass for pattern making purposes since my old plastic one wasn’t doing such a clean job. Inside this set is a compass, extension bar, ruling pen, spare leads, and a divider attachment. Made of metal and feels super sturdy! The plastic case makes it easy to carry on the go.

3. 7-1/4″ French Curve
A french curve for drafting necklines and arm holes. A bigger one would have been better for armholes.

4. Dritz Ball Point Pins
A seamstress is always in need of needles! I got 300 pins in the size 17 (1-1/16″) for use on knits and lingerie fabrics.

5. Dritz Satin Pins
More pins to help me in draping class, nothing really exciting here. I got 450 pins in the size 17 (1-1/16″). These are most suitable for satins and medium weight fabrics.


That wraps up my September haul! Hope you enjoyed it and found some supplies you want to try out. If you have any suggestions for art supplies, then please share it with me in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

