2017 New Year’s Resolutions + Art Goals

Yet another year comes to a close. 2016 was a challenging year for many, including myself, but I’ve learned to overcome much of the obstacles in my path. Despite what I’ve accomplished this past year, I still have a few things I want to improve on.


Personal Goals

1. Develop self discipline.

This was one of my goals for 2016, but I didn’t stick to it. I need discipline so I can create good habits and eliminate the bad. I feel like once I accomplish this, I’ll be able to do so much more during the day. I’ve been reading self help blog posts and I found this one from IQ Matrix to be extremely helpful! Check it out if you want to improve your self discipline as well.

2. Make more time.

I noticed that during the year there was so many things I wanted to accomplish, but just never got around to doing. I still have a stack of crafting and art supplies, bundles of fabric, and a whole pile of clothes that need alterations; but besides all that I also want to learn to play guitar (which has been sitting in my room for the past 7 years), improve my Japanese, and spend more time with my dog. School is important and so is work, but I need to stop obsessing over money and grades and make more room for activities and people that make me happy.

This resolution is also important to me because I want to invest more time to this blog and my YouTube channel. I have all these sewing ideas in my head and I also want to teach, but just never had enough time to film and edit. My goal is to finish at least 1 video a month, so we’ll see how this goes 🙂

3. Improve my wellbeing.

So besides the usual exercise, healthy eating, and getting enough sleep, I also want to work on self improvement. I want to handle my emotions better and just be an overall happier person to be around. Like I’ve said before, school has always been my number 1 priority and it has taken a toll on my mental and physical health. I only have one body in this lifetime and I intend to make it last long.


Art Goals

1. Practice anatomy and portrait drawings.

2. Develop a style

3. Improve my line art and inking.

4. Understand light and values.

5. Familiarize myself with color theory.

6. Draw everyday and finish every drawing!


I don’t really have any sewing goals in mind except to challenge myself by making interesting textures and silhouettes and also finishing my alterations pile….but that’s about it. Art has been my biggest obstacle last year and it’s something I’ve been frustrated with for a while, so this year I’m going to take it seriously and study art fundamentals so I have less of a creative block. I hope you enjoyed the holidays and have written down your own resolutions for 2017. I wish you all success, health, and happiness for this year. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

